Eastern Scholars Program Under Way


From the Civic Education Project Newsletter, Volume 2, Number 1, Fall 1995

The 1995-96 program year marks the beginning of CEP's most important effort to date--the Eastern Scholars Program. This program places young Western-trained social scientists from Central/Eastern Europe and the former Soviet republics as CEP Visiting Faculty Fellows in universities in their home countries.

It is an unfortunate fact that many promising scholars from the region who receive training in the West never enter the classroom in Eastern Europe to pass on their learning. CEP's Eastern Scholars Program seeks to redress the inequities--financial and academic--that serve as barriers to the re-integration of these scholars into the universities of their homelands.

In addition to providing Local Faculty Fellows with a monthly stipend for research and living expenses, those selected for this program are full participants in the program development initiatives of CEP Visiting Faculty Fellows.

The Local Faculty Fellows Program is currently funded with the generous support of the Higher Education Support Program (HESP) of the Open Society Institute. Given the enormous importance of this program, and the potential of the individuals supported by it, we are seeking additional substantial gifts for the coming program year that will allow us to expand this program to as many as 25 Local Faculty Fellows for 1996-97.

1995-96 Local Faculty Fellows

Tonin Gjuraj, University of Shkodra, Faculty of History

Czech Republic
Dan Marek, Palacky University, Olomouc, Department of Political Science

Vello Pettai, University of Tartu, Department of Political Science

Attila Ratfai, Rajek Laszlo Koollegium, Budapest
Balazs Varadi, University of Sciences, Debrecen, Department of Economics

Darius Zeruolis, University of Vilnius, Institute of International Relations

Tiberiu Alexa, University of Baia Mare, Department of Art History

Alexei Belianin, Institute for World Economics and International Relations, Moscow
Olga Issoupova, Institute of Sociology, Academy of Sciences, Moscow
Sergei Kovalyov, Yaroslavl' State University, Department of Economics

Ivan Chorvat, Matej Bel University, Banska Bystrica, Economics Faculty

Anna Veiksha, Ukrainian Legal Foundation, Kiev
Alexander Biriukov, Ukrainian Legal Foundation, Kiev